THEOLOGY@Brisbane

Home » Uncategorized » Call for papers for Australia and New Zealand Association of Theological Schools conference in Adelaide, July 2020

Call for papers for Australia and New Zealand Association of Theological Schools conference in Adelaide, July 2020

Follow THEOLOGY@Brisbane on WordPress.com

We are very pleased to announce that the 2020 Conference will be held in conjunction with the International meeting of the Society of Biblical Literature. Opportunities to participate in an academic conference with a substantial number of international scholars is not common in Australia and New Zealand, so we are very excited by the prospect of meeting with ISBL. The possibility exists that ANZATS might be able to offer joint sessions with SBL in biblical and related fields. Apart from any joint sessions, ANZATS streams (in Bible, theology, history, theological education, and practical ministry) will run parallel to those of SBL.

There are nine ANZATS streams you might consider submitting a paper to. Proposal abstracts should be no more than 250 words in length and include your full name and academic title, institutional affiliation, and email address. We will require full papers in the New and Emerging Scholars streams. Anyone can present a paper in ANZATS sessions.

Proposals for each of the following streams should be sent directly to the coordinator listed below by Friday 13 December. This is far earlier than due dates for ANZATS conferences.

The program for ISBL with ANZATS will be finalised by SBL by the end of January 2020.

Members of SBL can, of course, propose papers directly to SBL through their website: https://www.sbl-site.org/

The ANZATS streams we have chosen for Adelaide with their coordinators and email addresses are listed below.

We are repeating the New and Emerging Scholars stream and will again be offering three scholarships worth $800 each to successful applicants. Applicants must show evidence that they are currently enrolled in a Higher Degree by Research course at a member institution of ANZATS or have completed their doctoral degree at a member institution within the last two years. Applicants should indicate in their covering email whether they would like to be considered for a scholarship. They should also attach an academic reference from their supervisor or employer.

1. LUKAN SCHOLARSHIP: Coordinator — Dr Sarah Harris sarah.harris@carey.ac.nz

2. THEOLOGICAL EDUCATION: Coordinator — Cathy Harris cathy.harris.theol.ed@gmail.com

3. BARTH STUDIES: Coordinator — Dr Michael O’Neil michael.oneil@vose.edu.au

4. ISSUES IN PRACTICAL MINISTRY: Coordinator — Dr Anne Mallaby amallaby@whitley.edu.au

5. APOCALYPTIC LITERATURE: Coordinator — Dr Jon Newton jon.newton@ac.edu.au

6. STUDIES IN WORSHIP AND LITURGY: Coordinator — Dr Kieran Crichton doctor@kierancrichton.com

7. NEW AND EMERGING SCHOLARS: Coordinator — Dr Myk Habets mhabets@laidlaw.ac.nz

8. CHRISTIAN THOUGHT AND HISTORY: Coordinators — Dr Graeme Chatfield, Dr Myk Habets, and Dr Michael O’Neil gchatfield@actheology.edu.au mhabets@laidlaw.ac.nz michael.oneil@vose.edu.au

9. BIBLICAL STUDIES: Coordinator — Dr Catherine Playoust catherine.playoust@ctc.edu.au

10. WORLD CHRISTIANITY AND DIASPORA THEOLOGY: Co-coordinators — Graham Hill, Xiaoli Yang (Whitley College) and Darrell Jackson (Whitley College) ghill@stirling.edu.au

Further etails can be found at  https://anzats.edu.au/

 

call for papers ANZATS


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: